Please select To the mobile version | Continue to access the desktop computer version
Author: gtkingpro.ac2n

Please make GT-king Pro compatible with armbian ..

[Copy link]

5

Threads

153

Posts

788

Credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Credits
788
 Author| Post time 2021-04-13 22:56:54 | Show all posts
Edited by gtkingpro.ac2n at 2021-04-13 15:58

I made a post on the armbian forum, it is probably more productive than here ..!

https://forum.armbian.com/topic/17517-armbian-on-gt-king-pro/
Reply Support 1 Not support 0

Use magic Report

2

Threads

285

Posts

970

Credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Credits
970
Post time 2021-04-14 01:17:45 | Show all posts
gtkingpro.ac2n replied at 2021-04-13 22:56
I made a post on the armbian forum, it is probably more productive than here ..!

https://forum.armb ...

Good to know you have a stable Armbian running on your device.
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

5

Threads

176

Posts

1309

Credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Credits
1309
Post time 2021-04-17 00:48:09 | Show all posts
gtkingpro.ac2n replied at 2021-04-13 22:56
I made a post on the armbian forum, it is probably more productive than here ..!

https://forum.armb ...

I'm sorry but armbian has no intserest on beelink products.
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

2

Threads

285

Posts

970

Credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Credits
970
Post time 2021-04-17 15:19:26 | Show all posts
darkstar replied at 2021-04-17 00:48
I'm sorry but armbian has no intserest on beelink products.

Sorry to hear this, Beelink GT King Pro (presume GT King too) seems a solid product with good hardware and legacy and mainline DTBs are already well establish so I suppose if the manufacturer approach Armbian to get thier device officially supported the outcome might be different.

I understand previously Beelink X2 has CSC status from Armbian.
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

5

Threads

153

Posts

788

Credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Credits
788
 Author| Post time 2021-06-18 21:56:52 | Show all posts
Hi everyone, especially @JFL & @darkstar
I continue my feedback from Armbian,
I followed these instructions (thanks @SteeMan) taken in > https://forum.armbian.com/topic/15942-x96max-from-balbes-images-to-linux-image-current-meson64/
  

Here are the steps I did:

1) backup old kernel files in case things go wrong:
cd /boot
sudo cp uInitird uInitrd-5.9.8
sudo cp zImage zImage-5.9.8
sudo cp -r dtb dtb-5.9.8

# if things fail you can pop the sd card into another box and revert these

2) edit extlinux.conf
change the "LINUX /zImage" line to "LINUX /Image"

#there is different kernel file naming between balbes images and armbian kernels, Image is what I found in the kernel I installed, but different packages may have different names so adjust accordingly.  If you need to revert to the old kernel you will need to undo this change as well.

3) Install the new kernel package, I used:
sudo apt install linux-image-current-meson64
the installation was successful without error..
My GT-King Pro is now booting on the 5.10.43 kernel. I have my hdmi signal active during the entire boot phase but go to a black screen when I should have the graphical interface starting up .. I have my SSH access active and therefore I see that the lightdm service is not working .. But otherwise the system looks stable with linux-image-current-meson64
Here a copy of "armbian -u" => http://ix.io/3ql5
I still have my YUNoHost web server active and functional so for the moment for my use it works, I will try to find a signal on my TV screen other than a black screen ..
Following the next episode ..

htop

htop
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

5

Threads

176

Posts

1309

Credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Credits
1309
Post time 2021-06-19 04:00:31 | Show all posts
gtkingpro.ac2n replied at 2021-06-18 21:56
Hi everyone, especially @JFL & @darkstar
I continue my feedback from Armbian,
I followed these instr ...

I don't have any interest on armbian, thanks for sharing.
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

2

Threads

285

Posts

970

Credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Credits
970
Post time 2021-06-19 16:07:53 | Show all posts
gtkingpro.ac2n replied at 2021-06-18 21:56
Hi everyone, especially @JFL & @darkstar
I continue my feedback from Armbian,
I followed these instr ...

Hi @gtkingpro.ac2n,

the installation was successful without error..
My GT-King Pro is now booting on the 5.10.43 kernel. I have my hdmi signal active during the entire boot phase but go to a black screen when I should have the graphical interface starting up .. I have my SSH access active and therefore I see that the lightdm service is not working .. But otherwise the system looks stable with linux-image-current-meson64

Thanks sharing and updating.  Yes, if you had tried this out few months ago without the new chainloader u-boot.ext (from LibreElec/Balbes 150) the result would have been different, if I remember correctly, it wouldn't boot (tried it before stumbled on the new chainloader u-boot.ext).  With the new chainloader and also some recent changes in Armbian, we can now installed the meson64 kernel without any issue,  Prior to some changes in Armbian, if you install meson64 kernel on our device you will get dpkg configuration error but it will boot and everytime there is an upgrade it will try to reinstall the meson64 kernel and dtb unless you make where to to rectify the issue.  I have tried meson64 5.10.y, 5.11.y and also 5.12.y all works fine on our device.  I don't think they wanted it to be advertise though if you read the TV Box Club and you will get my drift.
Noticed you have kernel 5.9.8 arm-64 earlier.  The original kernel was kernel 5.9.0 arm-64, how did you manage to upgrade to kernel 5.9.8 arm-64?  Also noticed your "htop" screen is different from my current current Armbian Bullseye or Armbian Ubuntu Focal with meson64-5.10.43.  Your htop screen has more info.  Is the standard htop screen for Armbian Debian Buster?

With the newer kernel 5.10.y or 5.12.y Panfrost works better but the current mesa-git 21.2.0-devel (since May 19 onwards) seems to have some issue on XFCE with Panfrost enabled - system will become less responsive and uptime progresses, the tell tale sign is if you run glmark2 benchmeark over time you will notice scores drop significantly at least in my experience.  FYI, mesa stable (21.0.1, 21.1.1 or 21.1.2) does not have this issue on XFCE and interestingly the current mesa-git 21.2.0-devel with Panfrost enabled on Ubuntu-Wayland session do NOT have the noticable system reponsiveness issue over progressive uptime!

Look forward to hearing from your Linux journey.
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

2

Threads

285

Posts

970

Credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Credits
970
Post time 2021-06-19 16:33:43 | Show all posts
Edited by JFL at 2021-06-19 16:37
gtkingpro.ac2n replied at 2021-06-18 21:56
Hi everyone, especially @JFL & @darkstar
I continue my feedback from Armbian,
I followed these instr ...

Hi @gtkingpro.ac2n,

the installation was successful without error..
My GT-King Pro is now booting on the 5.10.43 kernel. I have my hdmi signal active during the entire boot phase but go to a black screen when I should have the graphical interface starting up .. I have my SSH access active and therefore I see that the lightdm service is not working .. But otherwise the system looks stable with linux-image-current-meson64

Glad that you are able to upgrade to the latest Armbian meson64-5.10.43.  Yes i also have it upgraded to the meson64-5.10.43 and have no issue booting up with Desktop GUI on both Bullseye and Focal.  I have been on meson64 5.10.y (also tried 5.11.y and 5.12.y) for quite a while.  My earlier response to you is currently being moderated.
@darkstar 5.12.0 image also runs well except occassionaly kernel panic during boot up process boot up process but once boot up successfully it runs well.  Have to turn off Hostapd as it keep generating errors in the system log.
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

5

Threads

153

Posts

788

Credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Credits
788
 Author| Post time 2021-06-19 20:29:55 | Show all posts
I was able to find the display manager by removing lightdm replace by sddm, and I found a graphical user selection screen.
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

2

Threads

285

Posts

970

Credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Credits
970
Post time 2021-06-20 14:04:26 | Show all posts
gtkingpro.ac2n replied at 2021-06-19 20:29
I was able to find the display manager by removing lightdm replace by sddm, and I found a graphical  ...

Hi @gtkingpro.ac2n,

By the way, noticed your htop seems to have more info than the standard Armbian htop.  Is this the standard Armbian Buster htop or modified?
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

You have to log in before you can reply Login | Sign up

Points Rules

Quick Reply To Top Return to the list