Please select To the mobile version | Continue to access the desktop computer version
12Next
Return to list New
View: 869|Reply: 13

bios error please advise

[Copy link]

1

Threads

6

Posts

17

Credits

Newbie

Rank: 1

Credits
17
Post time 2024-06-15 01:43:11 | Show all posts |Read mode
i emailed support and they asked about my encrypted password; i know my password. issue is i updated the bios and now i get a ACPI bios error. i just wanna know how to fix this.


[1.142792 ACPI BIOS Error  (bug): could not resolve symbol [\SB.PCI0.GPP5.RTL8], AE_NOT_FOUND (20230628/DSWLOAD2-162)
[ 1.143865 ACPI Error: RE_NOT_FOUND, During lookup/catalog (20230628/psobject-220)



please advise thank you

Reply

Use magic Report

1

Threads

6

Posts

17

Credits

Newbie

Rank: 1

Credits
17
 Author| Post time 2024-06-15 01:43:57 | Show all posts
here is the error

error

error
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

1

Threads

6

Posts

17

Credits

Newbie

Rank: 1

Credits
17
 Author| Post time 2024-06-15 01:46:22 | Show all posts
ser 6 max with the lastest BIOS update.
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

1

Threads

5

Posts

60

Credits

Member

Rank: 2

Credits
60
Post time 2024-06-15 04:09:39 | Show all posts
Edited by P00r at 2024-06-15 04:16

I have this error too, what bios version do you have?
I tried disabling a few option but it didn't go away, it seem it is really a bug in the bios, I had it on V.22 and now on V.23 what version do you have?
I haven't noticed any effect but I would preffer to not have this issue as well



their support have chalenge understanding sometime, just try to explain the issue is not with the password
they have so many model that they probably mix stuff out when making bios!

Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

1

Threads

6

Posts

17

Credits

Newbie

Rank: 1

Credits
17
 Author| Post time 2024-06-15 04:39:32 | Show all posts
I'm not sure I'd have to reboot to find it and I'm busy at the moment. I wanna say 37 or something I just updated like last month so I'm sure its the same update the most up to date bios. I can edit the boot uefi I don't wanna brick the system. Seems like its looking for  a table or catalog that's not there.  ACPI I think has to do with power. Didn't they change the power limits to under volt in the last bios update to help people with heat issues? Could be related. Any who thanks for the reply. I know the team is busy, no big deal. Thanks for the help.
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

1

Threads

6

Posts

17

Credits

Newbie

Rank: 1

Credits
17
 Author| Post time 2024-06-15 04:44:13 | Show all posts
Side note: it could be something as dumb as leaving a / or . in the code can make a argument like this.
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

0

Threads

793

Posts

2977

Credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Credits
2977
Post time 2024-06-15 10:37:26 | Show all posts
hello, pls go to bios' save& exit page and then do the restore default, and then see if that could work, thanks
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

0

Threads

1

Posts

8

Credits

Newbie

Rank: 1

Credits
8
Post time 2024-06-18 05:31:43 | Show all posts
Hey, I just made the account to answer this. I have an SER7 and I can tell you that the ACPI error you are getting is not relevant to you unlocking your root volume in linux. On my linux I get:

[    0.237437] ACPI BIOS Error (bug): Could not resolve symbol [\_SB.PCI0.GPP5.RTL8], AE_NOT_FOUND (20230628/dswload2-162)
[    0.237442] ACPI Error: AE_NOT_FOUND, During name lookup/catalog (20230628/psobject-220)

and it still boots fine. You are not entering your passcode correctly. I know you wrote that you know it but for some reason it is not accepted. Although it may be tiring to hear, try to pay very close attention when you type it in or check in some linux forum on what to do. Nothing from bee-link can help you with this problem.
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

1

Threads

6

Posts

17

Credits

Newbie

Rank: 1

Credits
17
 Author| Post time 2024-06-18 11:05:42 | Show all posts
Edited by bluewalleye at 2024-06-18 11:09
uses_linux_more replied at 2024-06-18 05:31
Hey, I just made the account to answer this. I have an SER7 and I can tell you that the ACPI error y ...

look i reinstalled arch with no encryption and i still get this error. yes the system boots. it has nothing to do with my password. this is a firmware issue. Bee link gave me the firmware update file to get the bios up to date. this is a bug they created. maybe pay close attention to the letters on the screen. They gave me a solution. reset the bios to default and to no avail. so the next best idea was to just downgrade back to version 28. thats the answer i got from support. they have no known fix for the bios V30 bug i found. plus this other guy in this thread has the same issue that you and I both seem to have.
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

0

Threads

284

Posts

1462

Credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Credits
1462
Post time 2024-06-18 15:04:01 | Show all posts
bluewalleye replied at 2024-06-18 11:05
look i reinstalled arch with no encryption and i still get this error. yes the system boots. it has ...

Hello there,

Have you had Windows updates on your machine during this time?

Then we can help you better.

Have a nice day!
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

12Next
Return to list New
You have to log in before you can reply Login | Sign up

Points Rules

Quick Reply To Top Return to the list