Please select To the mobile version | Continue to access the desktop computer version
12Next
Return to list New
View: 1318|Reply: 11

SER5 and new SDD

[Copy link]

1

Threads

2

Posts

23

Credits

Newbie

Rank: 1

Credits
23
Post time 2023-10-13 20:54:28 | Show all posts |Read mode
Hello,

I've installed a new 1TB SDD expansion on my SER5. I didn't find any valuable setup in the BIOS to make this SDD automatically booted while powered on.
Every time I turn SER5 on, it starts booting the NVMe default disc instead of the SDD (second disc)
Am I missing something in the BIOS setup?

Thank you

Ago
Reply

Use magic Report

391

Threads

4190

Posts

110K

Credits

Administrator

Rank: 9Rank: 9Rank: 9

Credits
12681
Post time 2023-10-13 21:19:02 | Show all posts
hello there
You can set the boot option#1 in the Boot page in the BIOS.
Set the boot SSD as your 1TB SSD.
BTW, is your 1TB SSD 2.5inch SATA SSD?
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

1

Threads

2

Posts

23

Credits

Newbie

Rank: 1

Credits
23
 Author| Post time 2023-10-14 20:29:37 | Show all posts
Hi,
yes it's 1TB SSD 2.5inch SATA (Western Digital)
In the BIOS I've never seen this SSD appear on any menu and sub menu values even in the boot option section.
Maybe the bios can't "see" it and a bios upgrade has required to be read.

Thank you
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

0

Threads

595

Posts

1985

Credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Credits
1985
Post time 2023-10-16 11:07:26 | Show all posts
Hello there, Let’s try these steps to initialize disk:1. Right-click "This PC" (in Windows 10 File Explorer) and choose "Manage."

2. Go to "Disk Management" and right-click your new hard disk. Choose the "Initialize Disk."

3. In the dialog box, select the disk you wish to initialize and choose the MBR or GPT partition.Also, try to create partitions:1. Right-click "This PC" and choose "Manage" > "Disk Management."2. Right-click the unallocated space and choose "New Simple Volume."

3. In New Simple Volume Wizard, click "Next" to continue.4. Follow the wizard to specify the volume size, assign a drive letter to the volume, and then format the partition.
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

0

Threads

4

Posts

34

Credits

Newbie

Rank: 1

Credits
34
Post time 2023-10-21 04:55:24 | Show all posts
tuiguang7 replied at 2023-10-16 11:07
Hello there, Let’s try these steps to initialize disk:1. Right-click "This PC" (in Windows 10 File  ...

I have a similar problem with my SER5 Pro, except my 1TB ssd is a Crucial. Like the original post, there's no indication that an additional disk is present when I turn it on, and the disk management control panel applet shows only the built-in NVME disk (Kingston OM8SEP4512N-A0), so there is no way to affect the SATA SSD unit installed under the back cover, even after a rescan.

Is there a BIOS upgrade required to activate the unit? Does this feature only work with certain specific  SATA drives?

It behaves as though it is not powered.

Thanks.
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

0

Threads

595

Posts

1985

Credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Credits
1985
Post time 2023-10-21 10:25:16 | Show all posts
hello, may I know is the fpc cable connected the mainboard and hdd intact? if it is broken, then it could  not work, and 2.5 inch 7mm sata hdd should be working.
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

0

Threads

4

Posts

34

Credits

Newbie

Rank: 1

Credits
34
Post time 2023-10-24 07:08:46 | Show all posts
tuiguang7 replied at 2023-10-21 10:25
hello, may I know is the fpc cable connected the mainboard and hdd intact? if it is broken, then it  ...

Good question. I see no cables when I open the back cover; the ssd slides snugly into the connector. All the electrical stuff is hidden behind the base plate. Is there a link to a page with an illustration that would let me view the cable layout?

To save me the tedium of looking it up, what does "fpc" stand for?

Thanks

Nick
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

0

Threads

595

Posts

1985

Credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Credits
1985
Post time 2023-10-24 10:11:44 | Show all posts
Hello, the fpc cable is for connecting the hdd and mainboard.  
FPC CABLE.png
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

0

Threads

4

Posts

34

Credits

Newbie

Rank: 1

Credits
34
Post time 2023-11-02 06:52:31 | Show all posts
tuiguang7 replied at 2023-10-24 10:11
Hello, the fpc cable is for connecting the hdd and mainboard.

Thanks. I removed the back cover (4 Philips screws) and the Crucial SSD (for better visibility). The SSD cooler plate blocks the view of any cables that might be present. I am loth to remove this plate since the screws that retain it are distant from the cooler plate and experience tells me that they are going to fall into the electronics cavity when removal is attempted. The risks of loss or short circuit are obvious.

I am willing to concede that the cable (thanks for the picture) is missing. How do I go about getting a cable? With a cable in hand I would be willing to try installing it.

Thanks

Nick
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

0

Threads

595

Posts

1985

Credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Credits
1985
Post time 2023-11-02 09:32:50 | Show all posts
Hello, if that so, pls contact us after-sales email, and send us the picture of the sn code on the bottom of the machine and your purchase record, and your address for delivery too, then we will arrange one for you. have a nice day!
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

12Next
Return to list New
You have to log in before you can reply Login | Sign up

Points Rules

Quick Reply To Top Return to the list