Please select To the mobile version | Continue to access the desktop computer version
View: 1100|Reply: 9

EQ12 Idle power reduction

[Copy link]

1

Threads

2

Posts

39

Credits

Newbie

Rank: 1

Credits
39
Post time 2023-09-07 15:30:23 | Show all posts |Read mode
Hello


I would like to use EQ12 for Home Assistant + NAS server. I would like to ask whether it is possible to reduce power consumption when in idle state? I plan to use Ubunty/Debian linux, no monitors connected, WIFI and BT are not requered, only one LAN interface is required.

I preffer EQ12 over S12 (Pro) as WIFI module can be replaced by the Google coral module.

So any idea how to minimize power consumption at idle? Via OS or BIOS settings?

Reply

Use magic Report

2

Threads

1707

Posts

5215

Credits

Super Moderator

Rank: 8Rank: 8

Credits
5215
Post time 2023-09-08 19:58:54 | Show all posts
Hello there,

Please try to lower the TDP in the BIOS.  Go to
> BIOS--Advanced--power&performance--platform PL1 power -then you can change the TDP there.
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

1

Threads

2

Posts

39

Credits

Newbie

Rank: 1

Credits
39
 Author| Post time 2023-09-18 19:43:20 | Show all posts
I had to change BIOS > Advanced > Power&Performance > CPU > View/Change turbo options > Power limit 1 to see some difference.

I also tried to change BIOS > Advanced > Power&Performance > CPU > Platform PL1 power but I haven't noticed any difference.

I also changed fan settings because PC was too noisy at idle. CPU fan start PWM was set by default to 80 which was much.  Value around 65 keeps CPU temperature down and PC is quiet.

Beelink developers, please consider changing of default fan values.

Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

0

Threads

387

Posts

1119

Credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Credits
1119
Post time 2023-09-19 15:43:15 | Show all posts
Hello there,

Thanks very much for your advise, we will tell our R&D personel about this advise.

If you have any questions, you can contact us for free.

Have a nice day!
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

0

Threads

3

Posts

22

Credits

Newbie

Rank: 1

Credits
22
Post time 2023-12-04 01:39:01 | Show all posts
Hi, which coral you are using, does wifi slot has two PCIe lanes? Thanks.
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

0

Threads

387

Posts

1119

Credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Credits
1119
Post time 2023-12-04 16:02:47 | Show all posts
deercoder replied at 2023-12-04 01:39
Hi, which coral you are using, does wifi slot has two PCIe lanes? Thanks.

Which model of mini pc do you ask?
EQ12 or EQ12 pro?
Please send us the photo of SN on the bottom of your machine, so that we can answer your questions well.

Looking forward to your feedback, have a nice day!
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

0

Threads

3

Posts

22

Credits

Newbie

Rank: 1

Credits
22
Post time 2023-12-04 16:41:06 | Show all posts
tuiguang16 replied at 2023-12-04 16:02
Which model of mini pc do you ask?
EQ12 or EQ12 pro?
Please send us the photo of SN on the bottom  ...

Hi it is EQ12
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

0

Threads

387

Posts

1119

Credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Credits
1119
Post time 2023-12-05 16:16:34 | Show all posts
It is CNVI protocol and the machine does not have PCIE
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

0

Threads

3

Posts

22

Credits

Newbie

Rank: 1

Credits
22
Post time 2023-12-05 21:15:58 | Show all posts
tuiguang16 replied at 2023-12-05 16:16
It is CNVI protocol and the machine does not have PCIE

But the OP mentioned
"I preffer EQ12 over S12 (Pro) as WIFI module can be replaced by the Google coral module."

if there is no PCIE for WIFI slot, how can he do that??
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

0

Threads

387

Posts

1119

Credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Credits
1119
Post time 2023-12-06 17:26:47 | Show all posts
Could you send us a photo of SN on the bottom of your machine?
Our R&D personel need this so that they can answer your question well.
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

You have to log in before you can reply Login | Sign up

Points Rules

Quick Reply To Top Return to the list