Please select To the mobile version | Continue to access the desktop computer version
12Next
Return to list New
View: 2515|Reply: 14

SER5 5800H 4TB SATA SSD support question

[Copy link]

1

Threads

2

Posts

43

Credits

Newbie

Rank: 1

Credits
43
Post time 2023-05-19 11:53:12 | Show all posts |Read mode
Hi,

I would like to check if SER5 5800H and support 2 x 4TB SATA SSD (for each port)
Does it support additional NVMe (please indicate maximum size)?

The following is a picture of my box:


Reply

Use magic Report

0

Threads

3

Posts

26

Credits

Newbie

Rank: 1

Credits
26
Post time 2023-12-06 10:33:48 | Show all posts
Edited by AFW at 2023-12-13 10:06

SSD limited to 2TB???  Oh dear.    My 5800H is being delivered tomorrow, along with a 4TB 7mm SSD. It's the whole reason I bought this little box.  What a disappointment. That's 600 bucks down the tube, dammit.

Update on 12 Dec 2023 (5 days later): Well, I decided to try the 4TB Samsung SSD anyway.  So far it works without issue.  I haven't set anything special in the BIOS, and power settings are factory default.  What a relief!
Reply Support 1 Not support 0

Use magic Report

1

Threads

2

Posts

60

Credits

Member

Rank: 2

Credits
60
Post time 2023-12-08 11:05:19 | Show all posts
AFW replied at 2023-12-06 10:33
SSD limited to 2TB???  Oh dear.    My 5800H is being delivered tomorrow, along with a 4TB 7 ...

Hi,

I ordered the SER 5 max 5800h a few days ago and I installed a 4 TB SATA SSD and 64 GB or RAM with no issue at all. I didn't swap the NVMe SSD yet but I probably will eventually.

I don't think there is any hardware limitation at all, but I can't know for sure yet.
4 TB NVMe SSDs are still a bit expensive so I'm not in a hurry to try for now.

4 TB SATA SSD

4 TB SATA SSD
Reply Support 1 Not support 0

Use magic Report

2

Threads

1706

Posts

5203

Credits

Super Moderator

Rank: 8Rank: 8

Credits
5203
Post time 2023-05-29 15:08:05 | Show all posts
telecon replied at 2023-05-29 04:10
Why are the sizes limited? I need 4TB m2 if possible.

Hello there,

Actually, you can add 4TB to the M.2 slot, but if it will cause some problem when the storage information is more than 2TB. Because the power will become inadequate.
Reply Support 1 Not support 0

Use magic Report

2

Threads

1706

Posts

5203

Credits

Super Moderator

Rank: 8Rank: 8

Credits
5203
Post time 2023-05-19 20:58:19 | Show all posts
Hello there,

The NVMe port only support M.2 Max 2TB NVMe SSD, not SATA.
For 2.5’SSD panel, you can put a SATA SSD with Max 2TB
Reply Support 1 Not support 0

Use magic Report

0

Threads

1

Posts

16

Credits

Newbie

Rank: 1

Credits
16
Post time 2023-05-29 04:10:30 | Show all posts
Support-03 replied at 2023-05-19 20:58
Hello there,

The NVMe port only support M.2 Max 2TB NVMe SSD, not SATA.

Why are the sizes limited? I need 4TB m2 if possible.
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

0

Threads

1

Posts

14

Credits

Newbie

Rank: 1

Credits
14
Post time 2023-06-09 21:49:16 | Show all posts
Hello,

Would the limit of 2TB still hold if I connect the M.2 NVME to PCIE adapter; thus, allowing me to connect a x4 HBA and connect 8 HDDs - each 4TB? This assumes I would power the enclosure externally. Please let me know.

Thank you.  
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

0

Threads

1

Posts

16

Credits

Newbie

Rank: 1

Credits
16
Post time 2023-07-19 04:29:19 | Show all posts
SER5 replied at 2023-06-09 21:49
Hello,

Would the limit of 2TB still hold if I connect the M.2 NVME to PCIE adapter; thus, allowing  ...

Did you try this setup?  If so does it work well?  I'm trying to get more storage out of my Ser5Pro but the 2TB limits on both drives is insane.
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

1

Threads

2

Posts

43

Credits

Newbie

Rank: 1

Credits
43
 Author| Post time 2023-08-26 03:12:04 | Show all posts
I have lost my windows 11 pro product after a drive reformat.

Can you please send the previously install windows 11 pro product key?
Thank you in advance.
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

1

Threads

10

Posts

81

Credits

Member

Rank: 2

Credits
81
Post time 2023-10-13 19:15:44 | Show all posts
Support-03 replied at 2023-05-29 15:08
Hello there,

Actually, you can add 4TB to the M.2 slot, but if it will cause some problem when t ...

Is possible to be more precise ? What did you mean exactly by:
"when the storage information is more than 2TB. Because the power will become inadequate." ?
That sound soo strange, and I've never heard anything like that in my career

Also if there are really a lack of power, isn't just the origin ultra-lightweight/downsized PSU fault?

A 65w Max PSU to power: a 54w CPU, with a 4w NVME Ssd (P3 plus) and two ram sticks (x Watts), there are just few watts available (65 - 54 - 4 - ..x?) for the rest of the system (motherboard, USB devices, etc)
There is litterally no-room for stability (everyone must know that when a PSU is pushed to its limit, it will DIE. Just a question of time...), and also no room for any extra upgrade (like putting another new Big drive with plenty of storage....)
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

1

Threads

10

Posts

81

Credits

Member

Rank: 2

Credits
81
Post time 2023-10-13 19:23:33 | Show all posts
There are many thread on the forum about that, but no serious and complete answer from support each time.
Also many users are talking about that too on reddit.
And because there are no real answer, the folks start to make all kind of hypothese like usual.
Some are thinking that come from the old 2TB MBR limitation (which isn't the case because drive are now in GPT) and says that all current mini-pc manufacturer made the same confusion, beelink too...
Other are saying that's for a commercial reason. (with or without Bios LOCK)
And some evocate physical reason: HDD more than 2TB are always more heavy (>7mm), SSD more than 2TB are always 2 sided... (which is not always the case now).
Some also report that's BS and there are no real limitation (what i'm think too) and sometimes with a positive feedback (8TB working good), sometimes not a positive feedback (but how many have tried and failed to install their new drive? Many subject about that too...)

Without hurting you (I don't know your level of knowledge), but in fact now, we don't need anymore a formatted answer given and repeated many times as usual. We need the real one, even if it requiert to re-ask the hierarchy and/or the technical engineer that could give this answer.

So, what do you think and what's (the best) that you could tell us about this "special" limitation coming from nowhere ?
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

2

Threads

1706

Posts

5203

Credits

Super Moderator

Rank: 8Rank: 8

Credits
5203
Post time 2023-10-13 21:25:06 | Show all posts
Hello there,

The motherboard only allows  max 2TB expansion for each NVME slot or 2.5' SSD slot.
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

12Next
Return to list New
You have to log in before you can reply Login | Sign up

Points Rules

Quick Reply To Top Return to the list